Itching and don’t know how to fix it.

Okay, so I now realize the title might be a bit confusing and/or suggestive and I am sorry (but seriously people, clean thoughts). No, I’m itching to write something and I’m not sure what to write about. I did have this one thought, and maybe that’s what I should go off of:

Music. Big subject. My biggest problem when it comes to writing is narrowing down my thoughts; all of my profs in school would hound me about being specific and choosing smaller subjects. Well, obviously I say HA to that because here I am talking about large subjects like guilt and music. Oh well. This is my blog and I’ll do what I like!

Right, so music. Music is a huge part of my life. I’ve been singing since I was three, dancing since I was 4, and playing piano since I was 7. Both my parents are musical (mom sings and plays the accordion, dad can play piano and the hammered dulcimer AKA tsymbaly), not to mention our Church is filled with music as a form of worship. So, it’s safe to say I’ve been surrounded by music since I was probably still in the womb and as a result I can’t stand silence. As I’m writing right now, I’m hooked into YouTube, listening to various songs continuously so there’s no silence as I write. And it is as I’m writing that I wonder why I need music in the background.

I think music is a very profound art form. I don’t know how many times I have sat in my room listening to a song, crying because of its beauty. I’m not just talking about song lyrics, I’m talking about the notes themselves, the way they ebb and flow from one chord to the next creating colourful pictures with their harmonies. Music has the power to take me out of my head and allow me to just feel what I need to feel, whether or not I know that’s what I need to be feeling. When I listen to music, I am at peace and I can much better focus on what I need to be doing. In fact, after trying to write my final Honours paper in silence (which was not working), I switched to listening to song after song on my iPod as I wrote. My paper got written much faster and with better concentration.

I also learn many of my life lessons as I listen to music. It usually happens when I’m feeling very low or extremely bombarded by the thoughts in my brain. I’ll turn on the radio or one of my favourite songs and the answer for me will be in the song. Amazing! But it can be crappy when the answer I get, though right, is not the one that I want. Nevertheless, we get answers that we don’t want all the time and we can either ignore them and move backwards, or accept them and move forward.

As I write about music and the wonder that it brings me, I am reminded by something that (I think) a priest said to me once. And it is here that as I’m trying to think of the circumstance I’m trying to relate that I turn off the music… interesting. Why? Because sometimes in the silence you find your answer. Sometimes, the silence can be more profound than the music because when you are silent then you allow someone else to give you the answer. When the priest said it, he said that God would answer in the silence. The problem is that our daily lives are filled with so much noise that we don’t give ourselves the time to be silent and receive the answers coming forth to us. We talk and talk and then we’re done and we don’t listen to the other side. Me, me, me. I am most certainly guilty of this; I happen to love attention. But I’m learning that I can feel just as good when I’m giving someone else the attention I crave, not easily to be sure and not always. But it is possible.

And so, I realize as always… I digress. But that’s how thought works. It ebbs and flows just like the music I was speaking of before. Maybe that’s why I like music so much: because it has the ability to shift and change as easily as our thought processes. Whatever my reason for loving music, I know I would feel empty without it. But I know I would feel awful if there wasn’t silence as well. Music and silence work together to create yet another ebb and flow, the experience of communication.

Communication. I think I may have found my point. Music is not only art or noise or vibrations; it is the communication of ideas between various parties. If a song is popular, just think how many people are listening to one message and responding to it. That is the power of music (and many other art forms that I am sure I will write about as the time comes), the power to communicate ideas to people around the world, maybe to the extent that it changes someone’s life. I know music changes my life every day. That’s one.

I’m sure there’s more I could say, but I can’t think of anything else and this is probably confusing enough as it is. It’ll be interesting to read this over and I’m sure I’ll think, “Holy crap, what am I even saying?”

Oh well. Such is the nature of the beast.

Joyanne 😀

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Itching and don’t know how to fix it.

  1. Alan

    Music is powerful. It promotes synergy in congregations, it foster solidity among colleges. Music evokes emotion from the depths of our soul.

  2. thisissurelynotshirley

    Regarding turning off music–no need! Just listen to John Cage’s 4’33” 😀

Leave a Reply

