The Birds & The Bees (But Not What You’re Thinking)

Let me tell you about one of my favourite sounds: birds chirping after winter. It’s such a happy sound and it brings a great, big smile to my face because to me, birds signify the end of winter, of cold dreariness; and the beginning of warmth and light, of playfulness.

Have you ever watched Warner Bros’ version of Thumbelina? There’s one song Thumbelina sings about the sun:

Once there was the sun/Bright and warm and wonderful/Shining like the love within my heart/Now there’s no more sun/Winter has killed everything/And although it’s dark December forever/I’ll remember sun.

Actually, now that I write the lyrics down, I see she’s actually singing about her long-lost love, Prince Cornelius, but I am going to take a literal approach to the song. All this winter, I’ve had such a hard time living without the sun. I am like Thumbelina, waiting for the light to shine again because when it does, maybe everything will be all right again. And I don’t mean to imply that this whole winter was shit. I don’t. But how much easier it is to see the light when it’s visible.

And of course, as soon as I write that, I can hear a tiny voice saying, “Ah, but the point is to see the light within the darkness.”

Grumble, grumble, grumble. Well, jeeze… what do I say to that? Am I not allowed to enjoy the sun while it’s out?

Tiny voice: “Of course you are, but don’t forget that even the darkest times have some light in them.”

Oh. So, I guess what this means is that I need to find what joy I can in the dark times too, or at least have hope that things will get better. Kind of like how Thumbelina only remembers the sun (or her love) even when everything seems hopeless.

Well, this is something I didn’t expect. I thought I was going to write a nice, little piece about spring and how I’m excited that goodness seems to shine again. Crazy brain. But I guess this tiny voice has a point, so I’ll try to remember that so I’m ready to go when winter comes again.

Just, please, snow, please wait until November this time.

Joyanne 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

