Want to Feel Like a Woman? Then Act Like One

I was wasting time on Facebook (as per usual) when I noticed a link to an article called “What to Wear on a First Date: Your 60 Second Visual Guide (Spring/Summer Edition)”, but instead of being geared towards women, it looked like it was geared towards men. Curious, I clicked on the link and found myself looking at an article that is indeed meant to instruct men how to dress for a first date. By this point, my spidey sense was telling me this website is made for men and my suspicions were realized when I realized the name of the website is called The Art of Manliness with the tagline,”Reviving the lost art of manliness.”

My curiosity now at its peak, I began to explore the website a bit and came across an article called “Want to Feel Like a Man? Then Act Like One.” by Brett. Obviously I clicked on it and as a result I was floored. Now, the article itself was really well written and used great examples and support to get the message across, but what really impressed me were the comments left by all the men who’d read the article as well. They were such thoughtful, serious comments and as a woman living in contemporary society (geeze, I’m basically rewriting the comment I left under the article), I was so glad to see men thinking about serious issues. Truth be told, many times I find myself surrounded by men who just objectify me and don’t give a rat’s ass about how I’m doing or feeling. These men’s comments help put my faith back in there being decent men out there (no offense to any men reading this. I’m sure you’re all great; it’s just very possible I haven’t met you yet). I truly think that all of my man friends need to read this article (also see this really touching one that I just read; ladies, can you say “Eek!”?)

However, I don’t think this article should be reserved for just men. Nope. While I was reading it, I kept finding myself thinking, “You know, this could totally apply to women too.” So, listen up, ladies! Do you ever find that you feel like you’re a teenage girl trapped inside a woman’s body? I know I do. Almost all the time (granted, it doesn’t help that my clown is still a baby, but I digress). However, what Brett suggests is that our society thinks that in order to be something, you need to feel like it AKA in order to be a woman, I need to feel like one, which I’ve already said I don’t, so that must mean that I’m not… WRONG! You will become the woman you want to be only through acting like one. One of the adages Brett uses is the ever-popular, “Fake it until you make it.” This could be used for everything: personal development, career success, relationship success, everything, I say! Man, I’m just so inspired, I can barely contain myself. Now I actually want to be a woman instead of some little girl playing at womanhood.

So, here is the challenge: I am going to write out what kind of woman I want to be (this was also suggested in Brett’s article) and I’m going to try my best to live it! Maybe some of you want to do it too. Who knows; it might work.

I want to be an authentic, independent, strong, feminine, compassionate, adventurous, well-travelled, artistic, loving, vulnerable, fashionable, woman.

Yeah.

Joyanne 😀

P.s. Since I’ve written this post, I’ve had a question about what ‘being a woman’ really means. Good question. I think it’s different for everyone, but in general I believe it means taking responsibility for your life and not letting anyone trample over you or tell you how you should live your life. It’s taking ownership of yourself and allowing yourself to grow into the type of person you want to be in accordance with the specific gifts you have. Hence why I think the article that inspired this post can apply to both men and women. Taking ownership is a universal action. Hope that helps.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Want to Feel Like a Woman? Then Act Like One

  1. Your definition does not tell me what a woman is. It tells me about the kind of person you want to be, which embraces your subjectivity, but not without assumption since you use the word ‘you’ and not ‘I’. In my mind, why gender it, if you’re not going to deconstruct gender. The whole thing is really saying: “You will become the person you want to be only through acting like it” because to gender this statement, you’re already assuming that being a man or woman is something previously defined, and assuming that whatever gets written in the name of being a woman will apply to all women – which as we know, is not true. Also this discounts the experience of being transgendered. But to set gender politics aside, Yes. Our actions sometimes define us. And yes, sometimes we just need to go and do and stop worrying about what we are.
    Love you for you.
    -Erinn

    • I had a feeling you would say something about gender. I realize this post has to do with a more ‘traditional’ view of womanhood. And yes, I agree it is most likely subjective because I’m writing from my own experience and have no background in gender studies.
      The whole basis for this post was basically to take what I read in the article that was ‘made for men’ and in turn put it out to women as well because the whole subject seems very universal to me, in fact, very un-gendered.
      But, as always, thanks for the comment, You always make me think.

Leave a Reply

