Double Rainbow! What Does It Mean?!

I’m sure many of you have seen the viral “Double Rainbow” video on YouTube (some of you might have even listened to the song). Well, I am here to tell you that I saw a double rainbow today on my way home from a meeting, and let me tell you, it was pretty damn good timing. Here is the context in which I saw the double rainbow: the meeting I was in had already ended, and now the three of us that were left were discussing (what else) men. More specifically, how we’re sick and tired of looking for men to date, but we can’t seem to stop thinking about the issue either, which induces more frustration and exhaustion. It’s that old saying: “The more you try to stop thinking about something, the more you think about it.”

Well, I left the conversation feeling a little bit better just by the fact that I got quite a few things off my chest, but I still had some things on my mind. Off I went towards home. It was on the main highway that I noticed the rainbow. It was so bright and clear and just shot straight up into the sky. And then I noticed it was indeed a full rainbow. And then, as I looked closer (which probably wasn’t quite a smart thing to do while driving), I noticed that there was, indeed, a faint second rainbow almost hugging the first. It certainly was a “double rainbow, all the way across the sky”! And I just sat there in my car looking at this lovely glimmer of light and colour and I felt extremely peaceful. And then I realized that was exactly what I needed.

I don’t know about you, but it’s been quite a while since I’ve seen a rainbow, and seeing one today (especially a double rainbow) makes me feel like the rainbow was a sign. Yes, I know, how typical to have a rainbow be a sign of good and beauty in the world. But isn’t that the point? I don’t think people can truly look at a rainbow in the sky and say, “Ick… what a gross phenomenon of nature. Get that ugly thing out of the sky!”

So, as a result, I will say that the rainbow I saw today is a sign… maybe not that things are going to be okay right now and Prince Charming is going to walk in my door, but that there is hope that everything will work itself out eventually. And to philosophize further, as I was driving home, the rainbow kept fading and fading until it disappeared completely as I pulled into the driveway. Contrary to what some people might think of this fact, I don’t think that the rainbow fading has to do with hope fading. Rather, hope is always there, like the potential for rainbows, but it chooses to show itself completely when you need it most.

In any case, I certainly feel better.

Is there one, special thing that always has the power to make you feel good?

Joyanne 😀

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment